Home > Restaurants > Brunch in Fort Greene

Brunch in Fort Greene

We all know brunch is a NYC tradition. Luckily there are a myriad of options in the neighborhood so you never have to go into the city again… Here are my thoughts on a few.

Chez Oskar

This neighborhood classic never fails to satisfy. After at least 2 years of ordering the same thing (chicken crepes), I’ve finally started ordering other things. I always felt like I could get eggs benedict anywhere so why order it here? On warm days it’s a great place to people watch and since it’s French owned you can sit there all day long before they bring you the check (or water sometimes). While the service can at times be shoddy the place is an institution. I wouldn’t get too adventurous in what you order but they do the basics very well.

Chez Lola

Chez Oskar’s little sister Chez Lola also has a solid brunch but lacks the social atmosphere of it’s older sibling. It also lacks the crowd (at least so far) so you reliably get a table here during the brunch rush between 12:30 & 2. As for the food, it’s excellent. My salmon breakfast (house cured salmon, potato cake, scrambled eggs & sour cream was great. Basic, but good. The drink menu is actually better than Oskar and it’s not quite as French so the wait staff is a little more timely with regard to actually getting your order, bringing your food and giving you the check. The back yard is great too.

A Bistro

One of my all-time favorites. Brunch with a Senegalese touch. The fried chicken and french toast is amazing. The omelettes are incredible. I hear the burgers are also off the charts. This place only has maybe 6 tables so you’ve got to get there early. I almost didn’t mention this spot and I won’t divulge the location because I really don’t want it to get so crowded I can’t go. On second thought, the food is horrible. The service is atrocious and the hours are irregular… YOU SEE THE PICTURE. DOES THIS LOOK LIKE A PLACE YOU WANT TO EAT??? DON’T GO!!!! STAY AWAY!!!


While this place gets the most fanfare of all the neighborhood spots, I’ve never been overly impressed. Don’t get me wrong. It’s good, but not fantastic. The service usually sucks as well (French). So my usual order is the shirred eggs with a side of grits. Again it’s good and the backyard is nice. They do have great coffee (one of the benefits of it being French). Bloody Mary is a winner too… I’m a proponent of the fresh, local food concept but in reality I think people’s perception of this place makes them think the food is better than it actually is.


This place seems to be hit or miss. I’ve had good brunches here and not so good brunches here. From what my friends tell me my bad experience was an anomaly so maybe I’ll give it another shot soon. While the inside can seem a bit cramped, they do have one of the more romantic backyards around if you’re trying to score points with your boo (I laughed at myself for typing that… Boo. Funny). Anyway I’ve enjoyed my dinners here more than brunch.


Probably my current favorite. Part of the Moe’s, Maggie Brown, Pequena restaurant empire and one of the few spots that serves brunch every day. The menu has all the brunch standards with a Mediterranean touch. My usual order: Green Eggs & Lamb (scrambled with fresh cilantro, tomato and red onion, served with merguez lamb sausage and pita) or the steak and eggs or an omelet. Great mimosas.

Night of the Cookers

Mmmm… The only place with real soul food for brunch. While the atmosphere isn’t what it could be (tables lined up cafeteria style), this is real comfort food and one of the few longstanding restaurants in the neighborhood. They were here when there wasn’t much else around and I’m happy to see their business is still brisk. It’s not a mind blowing culinary experience but it is at least predictable. Chicken & waffles, blackened catfish, decent egg dishes, good drinks. Service can be hit or miss but if you smile a little and show your server some love it usually works out fine.

Others I have not visited for brunch:

Habana Outpost – This place is too hip for it’s own good. I’ve only been for drinks and appetizers.

The Speakeasy – Went for dinner, very good.

Madiba – Like the vibe but I’ve never been overly impressed with the food.

Caffe & Vino – Haven’t been but I hear good things.

Categories: Restaurants
  1. Jaime
    May 20, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    This goes for some of your other posts as well, but when you plug a place, can you at least also include its address or intersection in your post? I just moved to the neighborhood, so a lot of the places you’re mentioning I haven’t heard of yet. Locations, please!


  2. May 20, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    This isn’t some kind of service. I’m not trying to “plug” or market these places… I’m not trying to be a tour guide to new people in the neighborhood. I’m just giving my opinion. Addresses would be too easy. It’s a small neighborhood. There are literally 3 or 4 retail/commercial areas. You’re new, take the time to explore… You’ll walk down the street and say “Oh, that’s what he was talking about”. Or simply google it or go to the NY Magazine site and look it up. Either way show a little initiative. If you want a guide book check out Lonely Planet or Zagat…

    • king jaffee jofer...bow down, plebe!
      November 14, 2009 at 11:18 am

      …word..what he said

  3. betsy
    May 20, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    I don’t understand why it’s so hard to have decent service at these places… it makes me not want to go back. :( I agree ABistro is awesome! The service is good, and the prices are right. If you haven’t been there for dinner, check it out. They have some nice “half portions” that are good sized, and a great value. And yes, the burgers are YUM. It’s also BYOB which makes it more affordable. Like you, I’d rather not see it get over crowded, but I’m kind of hoping they get more business and open for dinner on Tuesday nights so I can order take out from them while my husband is out on guy’s night. :)

  4. May 21, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Great writeup. Olea’s my favorite too, although I prefer the Savory French toast to the Green Eggs & Lamb.

    Also, try the bloody mary.

  5. erin
    May 22, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Is Maggie Brown too far away to be included? I think they have the best brunch in Brooklyn …

  6. Bubby
    May 23, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Have you been to Epoca for their weekend brunch?

  7. Carlton Banks
    May 23, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    I hear good things about Maggie Brown but every time I try to go for brunch the wait is way too long. Haven’t tried Epoca yet…

  8. Tim Kreider
    November 22, 2009 at 10:22 am

    “addresses would be too easy?” Seems like you’re going gratuitously out of your way to make things difficult for people who are, after all, just trying to find a place to take their friends for breakfast in an unfamiliar area. This sort of exclusionary they-were-a-cool-band-before-everyone-liked-them attitude is why so many foodies come across as dickheads.

    • Carlton Banks
      November 22, 2009 at 2:42 pm

      i’m gratuitously trying to save myself some time. i don’t know these places’ addresses. why should i take the time to look them up? i already know where they are. go read another dickhead’s blog if you need a restaurant guide. you could have located every restaurant i mentioned in the time it took you to write your comment.

      i don’t work for you or any of these establishments. this is not a tourists guide to fort greene. and who uses the word dickhead past the 4th grade? go hang out in some other unfamiliar area. i might start a “dickhead of the week” post… you’ll be the first recipient.

  9. Pill Billy
    October 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Carlton yea you do have a point but you don’t need to be a dick about it.
    Jaime stop being lazy. Tim chill out most foodies are snobs in one way or another.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

